Sunday Brunch at Sorella’s

A huge ball of tasty

The Neptune. The fuzzy aura around it represents my blurry vision after the food coma it put me through.

Brunch is a full-contact sport in New England. Like every sport in New England, everyone does it and is super-passionate about it. Because of my insane work schedule, rarely do I ever get to engage in this indulgent pastime, but recent rearrangements of my life has given me free Sunday mornings to brunch as I please.

Enter Christina, a fellow morning riser such as myself. Christina just recently moved to Jamaica Plain and suggested we hit up one of their great breakfast places, Sorella’s. Sorella’s is a few minutes from the 39 bus and a 5-minute walk from the Jackson Square stop on the Orange Line. I’ve never had a bad experience at Sorella’s, so I agreed, committing to being more adventurous aside from my usual eggs-meat-pancakes-hash brown-fare.

And, was I.

Enter the Neptune Omelette with salmon – a ball of deliciousness. Never did I think an omelette could be so rich I couldn’t finish it. The Neptune is loaded with everything, including some ingredients I just couldn’t catch because there were so many of them – garlic, basil, portabella mushrooms, sundried tomatoes, loads and loads of spinach, avocado, seaweed, gobs and gobs of goat cheese, and bean sprouts gracing the top. For a dollar extra I got more salmon than I could wrap my mind around. Every other bite was spicy, but there was so much in it I just couldn’t pin what was making it that way.

I couldn’t finish it. There was just so much. And it was divine. Don’t get me started on the fact that it was served with toast and hash browns.

The best part? Sorella’s is known for it’s out-of-this-world pancakes. Looks like I’ll need to make another visit to validate this claim… which I am completely and totally okay with.

This entry was posted in food loves and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

